The truest Companion wears Fur

When I was a little girl, I had the best friend in the world! we did everything together we played in the sprinklers in the spring and summer, we jumped into the pile of raked up leaves in the back yard, we burrowed underneath the snow piles creating path ways for us to run-through and hills to leap and jump over. my Friends name was Patty, and she was the most loyal and trust worthy Friend I had ever had. And she was a Beagle. that’s right my very first ever best friend was my dog. I never had to worry about where her loyalties lied, granted I was five years old when my mother and father brought her home from my grandfathers farm. But the feeling of love and joy she brought to my life was immense.

Patty our beagle
Patty our beagle

Patty was a great dog. Now I know what you’re thinking “beagles never shut up” or “beagles smell terrible”. and with Patty she rarely ever barked, unless there was and intruder in the yard or someone who was trying to get into our house that was unknown to us. she was loyal and true and very obedient. as for her smell? honestly, she smelled bad once in a while but it wasn’t all the time. And I might be weird but having that smell was something that imprinted itself on my brain. Now when I come across that scent I am reminded of my childhood friend. how we would lay under a shade tree and just hang out while I petted her. or how we would go inside her dog house to get warmed up during winter, because if we went in the house it was play time over. We had fun adventures together and some frighting ones. I remember when I was five I had a bad dream about dragons and had mustered up enough courage to get out of bed and creep my way to my parents room. well when I reached the living room I noticed a huge lump on the couch in the darkness. I strained to try and make it out, I whispered “Patty is that you?” as soon as I spoke a head turned my way with glowing eyes! I ran right past her screaming the whole way to my parents room. Jumped from the threshold to the bed in a split second, Finally trying to catch my breath while my heart raced faster than it had ever done, my mom asked ” what’s the matter?!” and finally realizing it was the dog on the couch by this time. I told her “Patty scared me to def!” I look back at that time now and laugh my rear off over it. silly dog knew she wasn’t allowed to be on the couch. you’ve seen how in those zombie movies the creepiness of that head turn right? yeah that’s exactly what this was like! lol. I can laugh and joke about it now, but back then it was the scariest and creepiest encounter I had ever had.

We had Patty for a long time before she went back to live on the farm at my grandparents house. that was a sad day, I felt like a limb had been removed from my body. yes I could visit her as much as I wanted but it wasn’t the same after she moved back to the farm. She was a good and loyal friend to the end though. I will forever love that dog. She was and still is the standard by which I measure all dogs.

Since having her, I have been owner to ten cats (over the course of many years, not all at once) and two other dogs. I love animals that is for sure. But out of all the domestic animals Dogs have always been my favorite. they are always happy to see you and always want to be around you whether its head resting on your lap or simply in the same room as you, they never cease to provide love.

My husband, well my Fiancé at the time got me a puppy from one of the neighbors. He was beautiful, his father was a purebred German shepherd whose back was up to my waist. he was a big, BIG German Shepherd. and his mother was a medium sized dog with Husky and wolf mix in her, she possessed another breed in her but we were never quite sure what it was. these two breeds of dogs created the most precious and beautiful puppies ever. they had the shepherd and husky markings and coloring. The puppy I chose was Carmel and tan in color with beautiful green eyes. we took him home with us and I named him Nasato. when he was acting lovey dovey I called him Nasato-potatoe. He was the sweetest puppy ever and so unbelievably intelligent. for example, Nasato poo poo’d on my soon to be in-laws carpet ( it was an accident). I could have scolded him in a harsh tone but all I did was whisper in a kind of “oh my god” tone. I whispered “Nasato no…” after that one accident and the way I handled it he never once went inside the house again. literally potty training him was that quick. it surprised even me how fast he made the connection. right then I knew for a fact that he was going to be a great dog.

Nasato when we first got him
Nasato when we first got him

Nasato was funny too, he had the silliest personality I had ever come across. one time when he was in his crate my sister in law and I were petting him and talking to him when all of a sudden he tooted. Nasato jumped, whipped his head around towards his butt like “what the heck?!” and we just died laughing it was the funniest reaction to a toot that we had ever seen. then he looked at us with these big ole worried eyes it was too much to not laugh.

Nasato six months old
Nasato six months old

Nasato loved to play with kids too. my niece was playing with him, well teasing him and he got an attitude like “Fine, since your messing with me I’m going to mess with you” he turned on her and started trying to pull off her socks. they ran around the house and we laughed the whole time he was trying to get her socks. He was such a good family dog. sweet and lovable and just a genuine joy to be around.

Nasato nine months old
Nasato nine months old

We then had to move after having him for ten months. the apartment that we were moving into didn’t allow pets at all. This was the worst thing I had ever had to do. I did not want to give him up. but our financial situation would not allow us to stay in the house that we were renting. Regretfully, I took him to the Humane society. it killed me to part with him and it still tears at my heart to think about it. we went back the same week to check up on him. when we got there I asked one of the care takers about him and he said that he was adopted out to a family who owned a farm two days ago. I was so relieved that he had been adopted that quickly. It’s been five years since I had to let him go and I still have the photo of my puppy on the shelf in my bedroom.

Akira 8 weeks old
Akira 8 weeks old
Akira Fifteen weeks old.
Akira Fifteen weeks old.

I never knew if the void I felt after that could be filled again. Since bringing home Akira, she has been bringing me back to a happier and more enjoyable life. she can never ever replace my other loves that came before her, But she is doing a good job of filling that void. And the love I have for her is unique just like it was unique for Patty and Nasato. I am forever thankful to God for creating a companion that can bring so much joy to a persons life. my best friends wear Fur.

Leave a Reply

