A little Fuzz Ball in my Life!

For as long as I can remember I have always loved Wolves and Huskies. They are the most beautiful breeds of Dogs in my opinion, nothing embodies the wild and nature quite like these breeds do. maybe it was my Native American side drawing me to these beautiful quadrupeds or maybe it’s my Disney Princess side. I have always been drawn to nature and everything animalistic in it’s kingdom.

Now I am an adult and I promised myself that one day I would own the dog of my dreams, a Siberian Husky. This year I made that promise a reality. My family now owns a beautiful Siberian Husky and she is the most perfect pet in the world. A little mischievous every now and then, but a little princess none the less.

Our little Husky Girl two days after we brought her home.
Our little Husky Girl two days after we brought her home.

She has brought so much Joy into my life. It was great to see my twins reaction to her when we finally brought her home. we had shown them photos of her from newborn to six weeks old. But I understood that us telling them “this is our new puppy” would not really sink in until we actually brought her home. The excitement in their voices was too cute to recreate when telling family and friends of there reaction.

Akira at home with her new squeaky toy.
Akira at home with her new squeaky toy.

The fun part of training Akira and teaching the twins about respect towards each other has been fairly smooth. Akira being a step down from a wolf has the “it’s mine” aspect of personality, that once she grabs a stuffed animal toy from the girls she has claimed all rights to it. so to curb that way of thinking my daughters and I went through there stuffed toys and designated three that were okay to give to the puppy. this has helped us to avoid any crying situations over Akira running off with a precious and prized toy from the girls collection.

She is even cartoon character cute!
She is even cartoon character cute!

All around Akira is the best thing that has happened to our Family. Having her around has helped with training our daughters to show respect towards animal, to be gentle and kind. Do they get excited every now and then and accidentally become rough with Akira? yes, but that’s because they are still toddlers in training. Consistent reminders of being gentle with our dog though helps to curb this over excited behavior. This experience has not only helped with patience and kindness, it has also helped with comforting our one daughter who has sensory issues. when she is upset we bring Akira in for her to love on and pet. Akira is a fast way to a smile on our Daughters face. Instantly putting her into a good mood. we are very grateful for this.

She always brings a smile to everyones face.
She always brings a smile to everyones face.

A bond is being created between dog and children. Akira has become more used to having little ones around and has started to adopt them into her life as her own. She loves to snuggle and cuddle with them on the couch. and if the twins have blankets Akira needs one as well. She is a sweet companion. I don’t know how I coped with stresses in life before her. having her come into our lives has made a significant change. not without it’s challenges for sure. puppies take a lot of training, and teething can be an issue. especially when almost all your socks and under garments have holes in them that weren’t there before lol. but it’s comes with the territory, and she is getting better with not chewing those things up anymore. it was a little ridiculous at first. but she is learning.

snuggling on the couch with the twins.
snuggling on the couch with the twins.

We are also grateful to Akira’s breeder who is so loving and kind and absolutely loves her work. this has shined through with Akira. she has the perfect temperament for being a family dog. without that loving environment for her to be fought up in would not have made her an ideal choice of dog. I am so pleased that she came from a good natured home.  we continue now with our journey. I am excited to have her in our family for years to come. I am in love with her, and am falling more and more in love with her every day. I’m glad I made the choice to bring her into our lives. the benefits have been rewarding.

Leave a Reply

